Trips – Experience Egypt!

Below you will find an overview of all the sights and excursions that you can experience with us in Egypt. For more information, simply click on the words underlined in the text.

Egypt

The Arab Republic of Egypt has almost 90 million inhabitants. The area north of Cairo is called Lower Egypt, south of it is Upper Egypt. The official language is Arabic. Foreign languages are English. About 90% of the population is Muslim and 10% Christian.

The history of Egypt as a united country begins about 5000 years ago, that is, around 3000 BC with the union of Upper and Lower Egypt. Since the year 640 after Christ the country is Islamic.

Since the revaluation of the Egyptian pound (“LE”) in November 2016, a holiday in Egypt has become very cheap. The general cost of living is only a fraction of the usual prices in European countries. Our guided individual tours offer you maximum security and comfort.

Trips between Al-Minya and Asyut

Ausflüge Al-Minya und Asyut
Beni Hasan

About 20 km south of Al-Minya and 430 km north of Luxor are found 39 tombs of nobles from the time around 2200 – 1900 before Christ. These graves are famous for their painted scenes from the everyday life of ancient Egypt. So you can admire scenes with artisans and wrestlers.

Hermopolis Magna

Not far from Beni Hasan, near the village of Al Ashmunin (420 km north of Luxor) are the ruins of the former capital of the 15th Egyptian province. The settlements date back to the year 2500 BC.

Tell El-Armarna

Just 4 km further south, we arrive at the small village of Armarna, which is quite right in the middle between these Al-Minya and Asyut. Here you will find the ruins of Achet-Aton, the home of the famous Pharaoh Echn’Aton, his wife Nefertiti and probably the place where Tut-Anch-Amun grew up.

Trips in Sohag

Ausflüge Sohag

Abydos

The city of Sohag is located about 180 kilometers north of Luxor. There you will find the archaeologically significant Abydos. In Abydos one finds the oldest traces of Egyptian culture from pre-Dynastic times. In November 2016 installations were found there, which date back to the year 3300 BC and thus are older than 5000 years.

In addition to an immense number of tombs from pre- and early Dynastic times in the Umm el-Qaab and Kom el-Sultan sites, the most important are the Osiron (a temple from the 19th Dynasty dedicated to the god of the dead Osiris) and the dead temple of Setho The first of which is about 3300 years old. The temple of Sethos the First is mainly famous for its so-called royal gallery. The names of all Pharaohs, known at that time, were carved in stone.

Trips in Quina

Ausflüge Qina

Dandarah

Not far from the city of Qina, 55 kilometers north of Luxor is the temple of Dandarah. Originally built in the Old Kingdom (2700 to 2200 BC), the temple was rebuilt by the Ptolemies in late Egyptian times. The reconstruction lasted for almost two centuries and was only completed by the Romans. The temple is superbly preserved and an absolute sight.

Trip to Hurghada

Ausflühe Hurghada

From Luxor to Hurghada it is about 300 km to the north-east or 4 hours by coach. The city with its 160,000 inhabitants is THE tourist center on the Red Sea. The largest share of tourism are visitors from Russia, England and Germany. In addition to the historic old town, this seaside resort offers all kinds of water sports such as diving or jet-sky and is ideal for those who would like to enjoy the classic spoil-bathing holiday (also following a historic round trip).

Trips in Luxor

Ausflüge Luxor

Luxor is the city with the most and important sights in Egypt. The city is located west and east of the Nile and has about half a million inhabitants. The historical name of the city is Thebes.

The place  of our office is located in Luxor. This is your home for the duration of your stay (unless you book something else). Luxor has its own airport, which can be reached in about 30 minutes by car from the city.

The climate in Luxor is highly dependent on the season. As in Germany, the period from December to March is the coldest. While the temperature during the day drops below 20 ° C even during this time, the nights of 6 to 7 ° C can be quite cool during these months. Then you should bring one or two sweaters. By June the temperatures rise slowly to 41 ° C (at night to 24 ° C) and then return month after month.

Luxor Eastbank
The temple complex of Karnak

The temple complex in Karnak is the largest in Egypt and is located about 2 km north of the city center on the Nile. The oldest buildings of the complex date back more than 4,000 years. During the Roman era, the temples were constantly expanded and rebuilt. The total size of the complex is spread over 30 hectares, with a myriad of sacred places waiting for visitors. Partly small and covert, partly really impressive, such as the large colonnade, where 134 columns were distributed over an area of 103×53 meters, which are partial over 22 meters high. Many parts of this temple complex are still very well preserved today.

The Temple of Luxor

In 2 km distance from the Karnak temple complexes and connected with these by an avenue of sphinxes stands right in the center of Luxor right on the east bank of the Nile of the Luxor Temple. Its construction dates back more than 3500 years. The temple, like the entire Karnak complex, is on the list of UNESCO World Heritage sites.

The museums of Luxor
The Luxor Museum

The Luxor Museum houses exhibits from the Thebes West region and the surroundings of Luxor. Among them are the tomb deposits of the royal tombs in the Valley of the Kings, also from the tomb of Tutankhun Amun. The reconstruction of an 18-meter-long wall from the reign of Echn’Aton, whose remains were used after the end of his reign as a filling material for a pylon in Karnak. On it are rare scenes from the life of the royal family from this time to see.

The Mumification Museum

Also on the east side of the Nile, near the Luxor Temple, is the Mumification Museum. Here you will learn everything about ancient Egyptian procedures for the preservation of the dead.

The”Old Winter Palace” Hotel

Another special highlight in Luxor is the “Old Winter Palace” hotel. Built in 1886, the 5-star Luxushotel has hosted many foreign heads of state, kings and famous personalities. It is located right next to the Luxur Temple and was also the site of the novel “Death on the Nile” by Agatha Christie – as well as the location of the movie some years later. The “Old Winter Palace” is a source of absolute luxury where you can of course choose whether you want to enjoy this luxury only for a few hours at the bar or on the terrace or whether you want to enjoy this fabulous place with its enchanting gardens for a long time Home

Luxor westbank

The west bank of the Nile was reserved for the dead among the ancient Egyptians, because in the west the sun goes down and is reborn the next morning in the east. On the west bank of Luxor (also known as the Necropolis of Thebes-West), there are various grave sites and memorials. Through the desert-like, rocky landscape is a small mountain chain, which is still visible from East Luxor and above all lies a breath of eternal immutability. The necropolis can be roughly divided into three areas: the area around the temple complexes of the Pharaohs Hatshepsut, the Valley of the Kings (later expanded around the Valley of the Queens and Nobles) and the area of Medinet Habu with its various death stamps.

The Temple of Queen Hatschepsut

On the west bank of Luxor, about 3 kilometers from the Nile River, near the Valley of the Kings stands the imposing Temple of Hatshepsut, one of Egypt’s few female pharaohs. It dates back to around 1450 BC and differs from all other Egyptian temples in its unusual terraced architecture. The temple itself is well preserved and has a large number of smaller cappings.

The Valley of the Kings

The list of superlatives at archaeological sites of world rank is long in Luxor. The Valley of the Kings, however, has a special position on this list. About 5 km north-west of the city center of Luxor, 64 tombs of pharaohs (mainly between 1500 and 1000 BC) have been found here. The valley is enclosed by the Theban mountains and the tombs are partly in excellent condition. The area was famous for the only found of an untouched grave – the tomb of Tut-Ansch-Amun by the Englishman Howard Carter in November 1922.

The Valley of the Queens

The Valley of the Queens lies south of the Valley of the Kings, but not only members of the royal families, but also nobles and high officials were buried here. The earliest graves date back to the 18th dynasty (about 1500 BC).

The Valley of the Nobles

The so-called Valley of the Nobles stretches between the Valley of the Kings and the Valley of the Queens, and contains several hundred private tombs and chapels. Here you can admire some very elaborate wall paintings.

Deir el-Medina

In this archaeological site you will find the settlement of the workers who built the grave sites in this area. The settlement was inhabited between the 15th and 10th century BC and gives interesting insights into the daily life of ordinary workers with their finds.

The Colossi of Memnon

On the way from the west bank to the Valley of the Kings are the so-called Colossi of Memnon, two colossal statues dating back to the 14th century BC They are the remains of a temple that was destroyed by an earthquake in ancient times. Impressive on the statues is their size. So weighs one of them including pedestals over 1000 tons. The dimensions of the pedestals are 10 * 5 meters and the higher of them has a size of 18 meters.

The Ramesseum

The Ramesseum is the most important temple of Ramses of the Second. It lies about 5 km from the west bank on the way to the Valley of the Kings and dates from the 13th century BC.

Medinet Habu

Also Medinet Habu is part of the necropolis Theben-West. Here is the temple complex of Ramses III. From the 12th century BC. The huge complex measures 315 * 205 meters and was dedicated to the god Amun. The complex represents the construction of ancient Egyptian temples in a nearly perfect way and is in a good state of preservation.

The temple of Sethi the First

The temple of Sethi the First on the west bank of Luxor in El Qurna has an age of about 3300 years. It was reopened after extensive renovation work in 2004. Nevertheless, only a hypostyle hall and remains of the entrance spylone and the column intersections are obtained from the entire system. The area is nevertheless worth seeing.

Trips between  Luxor and Assuan

Ausflüge Luxor Assuan

Esna

The city of Esna is located about 55 kilometers south of Luxor. The Temple of Ptolemy and Roman times is located in the middle of the city of Esna. The entrance to the former temple is preserved.

el-Kap

About 70 kilometers south of Luxor is the village el-cape with the remains of the ancient city of Nacheb. Here you will find a temple built in the Middle Kingdom (with a very well-preserved city wall) dating back to 600 BC. Under Psammetich the First it was greatly expanded. In addition, there are a number of very beautiful tombs of local nobles.

Edfu

Well, 85 kilometers south of Luxor, you come to the small town of Edfu. Here you can admire one of the best preserved temples in all of Egypt. It was built in the years 237 to 57 BC and was consecrated to the falcon god Horus.

Kom Ombo

The city of Kom Ombo is located about 150 kilometers south of Luxor and 40 kilometers north of Aswan. There, around 300 BC, there was a double temple, that is, ONE building, which was also consecrated to TWO gods (the crocodile god “Sobek” and the falcon god “Horus”). This makes this temple a special case in Egyptian history. In a side building of the temple one can still admire mummified crocodiles today.

Trips in Assuan

Aswan is the southernmost city of Egypt. From here to Luxor it is about 230 kilometers, depending on the route. With 281,000 inhabitants, Aswan is the fourth-largest city in Luxor and has an international airport, like Luxor and Cairo. Its administrative area extends to the south to the Sudan. Also Aswan offers a number of interesting sights:

The Isis Temple of Ptolemy on the island of Agilkia

The best-preserved temple of Isis on the island of Agilkia is also known as Philae Temple, because it was originally built on the island of Philae. After Philae had regularly sank in the floods of the dam, the temple was moved to the island of Agilkia in the years 1977 to 1980. The Isis Temple is the last place where ancient Egyptian religion was practiced. It was not closed until the year 537 AD by the Emperor Justinian.

The Unfinished Obelisk

In the city of Aswan, one finds the quarries from the Rosengranite, from which many statues and cult objects were made in ancient Egyptian buildings. In the northern part of the quarries there is a half-finished obelisk of 4 * 4 meters of ground and a length of more than 41 meters. A long crack in the stone was probably the reason for the demolition of the works. In the event of its completion, the largest obelisk of antiquity with a weight of well over 1000 tons would have originated

The island of Elephantine

The city of Aswan is situated in the first Nile Cataclysm, the island of Elephantine, which probably owes its name to the ivory trade practiced here earlier (“Abu” means elephant). Here you will find the ruined remains of ancient Egyptian temples, the Nilometer already described in Roman times and rebuilt in 1870. The picturesque, palm-rich island has a size of 1500 by 500 meters and is very popular with tourists.

The Kitchener Island (Botanical Garden)

Between the island of Elephantine and the west bank of Aswan is the small island El-Atrun (because of its former owner also called Kitchener Island). The island, which is a botanical garden (today in the possession of the state), is a place of relaxation for tourists as well as for the people of Assuan because of its beauty of plants and flowers.

The museums of Assuan

There are two museums in Aswan. On the one hand the somewhat smaller Aswan Museum on the island of Elephantine with exhibits, which were found during the construction of the dam, extended by finds on the island Elehantine. On the other hand, the Nubian Museum with exhibits and documentaries on the Nubian history with 6000 years old ceramic shells and the relocation of Nubian villages in the present through the artificial lake.

The rock tombs of Aswan

On the west bank of Aswan is the 130 meter high mountain Qubbet el-Hawa. Various tombs of the Egyptian nobles were predominantly beaten there from the time of the 6th to the 12th Dynasty (2300 to 1900 BC). The traces of the sarcophagi that lead up the mountain are still visible from the other side of the Nile. It’s worth a visit.

The mausoleum of Aga Khan

Three kilometers to the south is the mausoleum of the Aga Khan, a building built of Aswan granite for the leader of an Islamic faith group who died in 1957. The house of his widow leaves a red rose to the snow-white marble rack every day.

The “Old Cataract Hotel”

Across from the rock tombs and the islands of Kitchener and Elephantine, in December 1899 the luxury hotel Old-Cataract was built in a Victorian style. Like the Winter Palace Hotel in Luxor, the novel “Tod am Nil” was also filmed in this hotel. The Old-Cataract Hotel also housed state presidents, kings and celebrities. Who was allowed to enjoy a  sunset on the terraces of this hotel with a cup of tea and the view of Aswan will not forget so quickly.

The highdam at the Nasser-Reservoir

The new highdam at the Nasser reservoir was inaugurated in 1971. It is located about 13 km south of Aswan, is almost 4km long, 111 meters high and at the crown 40 meters wide. The 500-kilometer-long Nasser dam is the fourth-largest in the world.

The Kalabsha Temple

The Kalabsha Temple, like the temples of Philae and Abu Simbel after the construction of the dam, was transferred to the island of New Kalabscha about 1.5 kilometers south of the highdam, as its original location was flooded by the dam. The temple dates from the 18th Dynasty (15th century BC) and was extended to Roman times. It has impressive proportions with 66 * 92 meters and is in a good condition of preservation.

Abu Simbel

280 kilometers south of Aswan and some 500 kilometers south of Luxor one reaches Abu Simbel. The small village of less than 3000 inhabitants is famous for its splendid temples of Ramses II and its wife Nefertari. The temples, originally built as a power demonstration against the peoples of southern Egypt in the 13th century BC, were saved in 1979 in a spectacular displacement action before sinking into the Nasser reservoir. They are now on an island which is connected to the village of Abu Simbel by a navigable bridge.

Ausflüge – Ägypten erleben!

Nachfolgend finden Sie eine Übersicht aller Sehenswürdigkeiten und Ausflüge, die Sie mit uns in Ägypten erleben können.  Für nähere Informationen klicken Sie einfach auf die im Text unterstrichenen Worte.

Ägypten

Die Arabische Republik Ägypten hat knapp 90 Millionen Einwohner. Als Unterägypten wird der Bereich nördlich von Kairo bezeichnet, südlich davon ist Oberägypten. Die Amtssprache ist Arabisch. Als Fremdsprache ist vor allem Englisch anzutreffen. Etwa 90% der Bevölkerung ist muslimisch und 10 % christich.

Die Geschichte Ägyptens als vereinigtes Land beginnt zirka vor 5000 Jahren, also um 3000 vor Christi mit der Vereinigung von Ober- und Unterägypten. Seit dem Jahr 640 nach Christi ist das Land islamisch geprägt.

Seit der Neubewertung des Ägyptischen Pfunds („LE“) im November 2016 ist ein Urlaub in Ägypten sehr preiswert geworden. Die allgemeinen Lebenshaltungskosten betragen nur einen Bruchteil der in Deutschland üblichen Preise.  Unsere betreuten Individualreisen bieten Ihnen ein Höchstmaß an Sicherheit und Komfort.

Ausflüge zwischen Al-Minya und Asyut

Ausflüge Al-Minya und Asyut
Beni HasAn

Etwa 20 km südlich von Al-Minya und 430 km nördlich von Luxor befinden sich 39 Gräber der damaligen Gaufürsten aus der Zeit um 2200 – 1900 vor Christi. Diese Gräber sind berühmt für ihre gemalten Szenen aus dem Alltag des alten Ägypten. So kann man Szenen mit Handwerkern und Ringkämpfern bestaunen.

Hermopolis Magna

Unweit von Beni Hasan, in der Nähe der Ortschaft Al Ashmunin (420 km nördlich von Luxor) liegt das Ruinenfeld der ehemaligen Hauptstadt der 15. ägyptischen Provinz.  Die Besiedelung reicht bis in das Jahr 2500 v. Chr. zurück.

Tell El-Armarna

Nur 4 km weiter südlich kommen wir in das kleine Dorf Armarna, das ziemlich genau in der Mitte zwischen diesen Al-Minya und Asyut liegt. Hier findet man die Ruinen der Stadt Achet-Aton , dem Wohnsitz des berühmten Pharaos Echn’Aton, seiner Frau Nofretete und wohl auch dem Ort, an dem Tut-Anch-Amun aufgewachsen ist.

Ausflüge in Sohag

Ausflüge Sohag

Abydos

Die Stadt Sohag liegt ungefähr 180 Kilometer nördlich von Luxor.  Dort findet man die archäoligisch bedeutsamen Anlagen von Abydos.  In Abydos findet man die ältesten Spuren der ägyptischen Kultur aus vordynastischer Zeit. Im November 2016 wurden dort Anlagen gefunden, die bis in das Jahr 3300 v. Chr.  zurückreichen und damit älter als 5000 Jahre sind.

Neben einer Unzahl von Gräbern aus prä- und frühdynastischer Zeit in den Stätten Umm el-Qaab und Kom el-Sultan sind die bedeutendsten Anlagen das Osireon (ein dem Totengott Osiris geweihter Tempel aus der 19. Dynastie) und in direkter Nähe hierzu der Totentempel Sethos des Ersten, der zirka 3300 Jahre alt ist. Der Tempel Sethos des Ersten ist vor allem berühmt wegen seiner sogenannten Königsgalerie.  Auf ihr wurden die Namen aller damals bekannten 76 Pharaonen in Stein gemeisselt.

Ausflüge in Quina

Ausflüge Qina

Dandarah

Unweit der Stadt Qina, 55 Kilometer nördlich von Luxor liegt der Tempel von Dandarah. Der ursprünglich im Alten Reich (2700 bis 2200 v.Chr.) erbaute Tempel wurde unter spätägyptischer Zeit von den Ptolemäern umgebaut. Der Umbau dauerte fast zwei Jahrhunderte und wurde erst unter den Römern vollendet. DerTempel ist hervorragend erhalten und eine absolute Sehenswürdigkeit.

Ausflug nach  Hurghada

Ausflühe Hurghada

Von Luxor nach Hurghada sind es gut 300 km nach Nordosten oder 4 Stunden mit dem Reisebus.  Die Stadt mit ihren 160.000 Einwohnern ist DAS Touristenzentrum am Roten Meer.  Die größten Anteile am Tourismus stellen Besucher aus Rußland, England und Deutschland. Neben der sehenswerten Altstadt bietet dieser Badeort alle erdenklichen Wassersportarten wie Tauchen oder Jet-Sky und ist ideal für jeden, der gerne den klassischen Verwöhnungs-Badeurlaub genießen möchte (auch im Anschluß an eine historische Rundreise).

Ausflüge in Luxor

Ausflüge Luxor

Luxor ist die Stadt mit den meißten und wichtigsten Sehenswürdigkeiten in Ägypten. Die Stadt befindet sich westlich und östlich des Nils und hat zirka eine halbe Millionen Einwohner.  Der historische Name der Stadt ist Theben.

In Luxor befindet sich der Sitz unseres Büros. Hier wird für die Dauer Ihres Aufenthaltes (so lange Sie nichts anderes buchen) Ihr Zuhause sein. Luxor verfügt über einen eigenen Flughafen, der in zirka 30 Minuten mit dem Auto von der Stadt aus zu erreichen ist.

Das Klima in Luxor ist stark abhängig von der Jahreszeit. Wie in Deutschland ist die Zeit von Dezember bis März die kälteste. Während die Temperatur tagsüber selbst in dieser Zeit kaum unter 20 ° C sinkt, können in diesen Monaten die Nächte mit 6 bis 7 ° C durchaus kühl werden. Dann sollten Sie ein oder zwei Pullover mitbringen. Bis Juni steigen die Temperaturen am Tag dan langsam bis auf 41° C an (nachts bis 24 °C) um danach dann Monat für Monat wieder zurückzugehen.

Luxor Ostufer
Der Tempel von Karnak

Die Tempelanlage in Karnak ist die größte in ganz Ägypten und liegt ungefähr 2 km nördlich vom Stadtzentrum am Nil. Die ältesten Gebäude der Anlage reichen gut 4000 Jahre in die Vergangenheit zurück. Dabei wurde die Anlage noch bis in die Römerzeit ständig erweitert und umgebaut.  Die Gesamtgröße der Anlage verteilt sich auf 30 Hektar, eine Unzahl an sakralen Orten wartet auf  Besucher. Teils klein und versteckt, teils wirklich in imposanten Ausmassen wie zum Beispiel die große Säulenhalle, in der auf einer Fläche von 103×53 Metern 134 Säulen verteilt wurden, die Teilweise über 22 Meter hoch sind. Viele Teile dieser Tempelanlage sind auch heute noch sehr gut erhalten.

Der Tempel von Luxor

In 2 km Entferung von den Karnak-Tempelanlagen und mit diesen durch eine Allee von Sphinxen verbunden steht mitten in der Innenstadt von Luxor direkt am Ostufer des Nil der Luxor-Tempel. Seine Bauzeit reicht gut 3500 Jahre zurück. Der Tempel steht wie die Gesamtanlage von Karnak auf der Liste des UNESCO-Weltkulturerbe.

Der Tempel des Thot

(Angebote zu diesem Zielort werden von uns in Kürze in unsere Webseite eingefügt.)

Die Museen von Luxor
Das Luxor-Museum

Das Luxor-Museum beherbergt in seiner Ausstellung Stücke aus der Region Theben West und der Umgebung von Luxor. Darunter sind auch Grabbeigaben der Königsgräber im Tal der Könige, auch aus dem Grab des Tut-Anch-Amun. Sehenswert ist auch eine Rekonstruktion einer 18 Meter langen Mauer aus der Regierungszeit des Echn’Aton, deren Überreste nach dem Ende seiner Regierung als Füllmaterial für einen Pylon in Karnak verwendet wurden. Auf Ihr sind seltene Szenen aus dem Leben der Königsfamilie aus dieser Zeit zu sehen.

Das Mumifizierungs-Museum

Ebenfalls auf der Ostseite des Nils unweit des Luxor-Tempels findet sich das Mumifizierungs-Museum. Hier erfahren Sie alles über die altägyptischen Verfahren zur Konservierung Verstorbener.

Das „Old Winter Palace“ Hotel

Ein weiteres besonderes Highlight in Luxor ist das „Old Winter Palace“-Hotel. Dieses 1886 erbaute 5-Sterne-Luxushotel hat schon viele ausländische Staatsoberhäupter, Könige und berühmte Persönlichkeiten beherbergt. Es liegt direkt neben dem Luxur-Tempel und war auch Entstehungsplatz des Romans „Tod auf dem Nil“ von Agatha Christie – wie auch Schauplatz von dessen Verfilmung einige Jahre später. Das „Old Winter Palace“ ist eine Quelle des absoluten Luxus wobei Sie natürlich wählen können, ob Sie diesen Luxus nur für eine paar Stunden an der Bar oder auf der Terrasse genießen wollen oder ob Sie diesen märchenhaften Ort mit seinen verzaubernden Gärten eine zeitlang zu Ihrem Zuhause machen.

Luxor Westufer

Das Westufer des Nils war bei den alten Ägyptern für die Toten reserviert, weil im Westen die Sonne untergeht und am nächsten Morgen im Osten neu geboren wird. Am Westufer von Luxor (auch als Nekropole Theben-West bekannt) finden sich daher diverse Grabanlage und Totentempel. Durch die wüstenähnliche, steinige Landschaft zieht sich eine kleine Bergkette, die noch von Ostluxor aus deutlich zu sehen ist  und über allem liegt ein Hauch von ewiger Unveränderlichkeit. Die Nekropole  lässt sich grob in drei Bereiche einteilen – das Gebiet um die Tempelanlagen der Pharaonin Hatschepsut, das Tal der Könige (später erweitert um das Tal der Königinnen und der Noblen) und das Gebiet Medinet Habu mit seinen diversen Totentempeln.

Der Tempel der Hatschepsut

Am Westufer von Luxor, zirka 3 Kilometer vom Nilfufer entfernt nahe dem Tal der Könige steht der imposante Tempel der Hatschepsut, einer der wenigen weiblichen Pharaonen Ägyptens. Er stammt etwa aus dem Jahr 1450 v. Chr. und weicht in seiner ungewöhnlichen, terrassenartigen Architektur von allen anderen ägyptischen Tempeln ab. DerTempel selbst ist gut erhalten und verfügt über eine Vielzahl kleinerer Kappelen.

Das Tal der Könige

Die Liste der Superlative an archäologischen Stätten von Weltrang ist lang in Luxor.  Das Tal der Könige hat aber selbst auf dieser Liste eine besondere Stellung. Etwa 5 km nordwestlich des Stadtzentrums von Luxor gelegen hat man hier bisher 64 Gräber von Pharaonen (hauptsächlich aus der Zeit zwischen 1500 und 1000 v. Chr.) gefunden. Das Tal ist eingeschlossen von den thebanischen Bergen und die Gräber sind zum Teil in einem hervorragenden Zustand. Berühmt wurde das Gebiet durch den bisher einzigen Fund eines unberührten Grabes – das Grab von Tut-Ansch-Amun durch den Engländer Howard Carter im November 1922.

Das Tal der Königinnen

Das Tal der Königinnen liegt südlich vom Tal der Könige, wobei hier aber nicht nur Angehörige der Königsfamilien sondern auch Adlige und hohe Beamte bestattet wurden.  Die frühensten Gräber gehen zurück in die 18. Dynastie (zirka 1500 v. Chr.).

Das Tal der Noblen

Das sogenannte Tal der Noblen erstreckt sich zwischen dem Tal der Könige und dem Tal der Königinnen und enthält mehrere hundert Privatgräber und Kapellen. Hier sind zum Teil sehr kunstvoll ausgearbeitete Wandmalereien zu bewundern.

Deir el-Medina

In dieser archäologischen Stätte findet man die Siedlung derArbeiter, die die Grabanlagen in diesem Bereich errichtet haben. Die Siedlung war zwischen dem 15. und 10. Jahrhundert v. Chr. bewohnt und gibt mit ihren Fundstücken interessante Einblicke in das Alltagsleben der einfachen Arbeiter.

Die Kolosse von Memnon

Auf dem Weg vom Westufer zum Tal der Könige findet man die sogenannten Kolosse von Memnon, zwei Kolossalstatuen aus dem 14. Jahrhundert v. Chr. Sie sind Überbleibsel einer Tempelanlage, die durch ein Erdbeben schon in der Antike zerstört wurde.  Beeindruckend an den Statuen ist ihre Größe. So wiegt eine von ihnen inklusive Sockel über 1000 Tonnen.  Die Maße der Sockel sind 10 * 5 Meter und die höhere von beiden hat eine Größe von 18 Metern.

Das Ramesseum

Das Ramesseum ist der bedeutendste Totentempel Ramses des Zweiten. Er liegt etwa 5 km vom Westufer entfernt auf dem Weg in das Tal der Könige und stammt aus dem 13. Jahrhundert v. Chr.

Medinet Habu

Auch Medinet Habu ist ein Teil der Nekropole Theben-West. Hier befindet sich der Tempelkomplex von Ramses III. aus dem 12. vorchristlichen Jahrhundert. Die gewaltige Anlage misst 315 * 205 Meter und war dem Gott Amun geweiht. Die Anlage repräsentiert die Bauweise altägyptischer Tempel in nahezu perfekter Weise und ist in einem guten Erhaltungszustand.

Der Tempel Sethos des Ersten

Der Totentempel Sethos des Ersten am Westufer von Luxor in El Qurna hat ein Alter von ungefähr 3300 Jahren. Er wurde nach umfassenden Renovierungsarbeiten im Jahr 2004 wieder zur Besichtigung eröffnet. Trotzdem ist von der Gesamtanlage nur noch eine Hypostylhalle und Reste der Eingangspylone und der Säulengänge erhalten. Die Anlage ist dennoch sehenswert.

Ausflüge zwischen Luxor und Assuan

Ausflüge Luxor Assuan

Esna

Etwa 55 Kilometer südlich von Luxor liegt die Stadt Esna. Der aus ptolomäischer und römischer Zeit stammende Tempel liegt mitten in der Stadt Esna. Erhalten ist die Vorhalle des ehemaligen Tempels.

el-Kap

Etwa 70 Kilometer südlich von Luxor liegt das Dorf el-Kap mit den Überresten der antiken Stadt Nacheb. Hier findet sich ein im mittleren Reich erbauter Tempel (mit sehr gut erhaltener Stadtmauer) der um 600 v.Chr. unter Psammetich I stark erweitert wurde.  Außerdem gibt es eine Reihe sehr schöner Gräber der lokalen Noblen.

Edfu

Gut 85 Kilometer südlich von Luxor kommt man in die Kleinstadt Edfu. Hier können Sie einen der am besten erhaltenen Tempel in ganz Ägypten bestaunen.  Er wurde in den Jahren 237 bis 57 v. Chr. erbaut und war dem Falkengott Horus geweiht.

Kom Ombo

Ungefähr 150 Kilometer südlich von Luxor und  40 Kilometer nördlich von Assuan liegt die Stadt Kom Ombo. Dort entstand um 300 v. Chr.  ein Doppeltempel, also EIN Gebäude, das zugleich ZWEI Gottheiten geweiht war (dem Krokodilgott „Sobek“ und dem Falkengott „Horus“). Das macht diesen Tempel in der ägyptischen Historie zu einem Sonderfall. In einem Seitengebäude des Tempels kann man noch heute mumifizierte Krokodile bestaunen.

Ausflüge in Assuan

Assuan ist die südlichste Stadt Ägyptens. Von hier bis Luxor sind es je nach Route zirka 230 Kilometer. Mit 281.000 Einwohnern ist Assuan nach Luxor die viertgrößte Stadt des Landes und verfügt wie Luxor und Kairo über einen internationalen Flughafen.  Ihr Verwaltungsgebiet reicht im Süden bis an die Grenze zum Sudan. Auch Assuan bietet eine Reihe interessanter Sehenswürdigkeiten:

Der Isis-Tempel des Ptolemaios auf der Insel Agilkia

Der vorzüglich erhaltene Tempel der Isis auf der Insel Agilkia ist auch als Philae-Tempel bekannt, weil er ursprünglich auf der Insel Philae erbaut wurde. Nachdem Philae seit dem Bau der ersten Staumauer von Assuan im Jahre 1902 regelmäßig in den Fluten des dadurch entstandenen Stausees versank, wurde der Tempel in den Jahren von 1977 bis 1980 auf die Insel Agilkia versetzt.  Der Isistempel ist der letzte Ort, an dem altägyptische Religion praktiziert wurde. Er wurde erst im Jahr 537 nach Chr. durch den oströmischen Kaiser Justinian geschlossen.

Der Unvollendete Obelisk

In der Stadt Assuan findet man die Steinbrüche, aus denen der Rosengranit stammt, aus dem viele Statuen und Kultobjekte in den altägyptischen Bauwerken gefertigt wurden.  Im nördlichen Bereich der Steinbrüche liegt seit vermutlich 3500 Jahren ein halbfertig aus dem Gestein geschlagener Obelisk von 4 * 4 Metern Grundfläche und einer Länge von über 41 Metern. Ein langer Riß im Stein war vermutlich Grund für den Abbruch der Arbeiten. Im Falle seiner Fertigstellung wäre der größte Obelisk des Altertums mit einem Gewicht von weit über 1000 Tonnen entstanden.

Die Insel Elephantine

Der Stadt Assuan vorgelagert im ersten Nilkaterakt liegt die Insel Elephantine, die ihren Namen vermutlich dem hier früher praktizierten Elfenbeinhandel verdank („Abu“ bedeutet Elefant). Hier finden sich die stark verfallenen Überreste altägyptischer Tempel, das schon zur Römerzeit beschriebene und 1870 wieder instandgesetzte Nilometer. Die malerische, palmenreiche Insel hat eine Größe von 1500 mal 500 Metern und ist bei Touristen sehr beliebt.

Die Kitchener Insel (Botanischer Garten)

Zwischen der Insel Elephantine und dem Westufer von Assuan liegt die kleine Insel El-Atrun (wegen ihres früheren Besitzers auch Kitchener-Insel genannt). Die als botanischer Garten angelegte Insel (heute im Staatsbesitz) ist für Touristen wie für die Bevölkerung Assuans wegen ihrer Pfanzen- und Blütenpracht ein willkommender Platz der Entspannung.

Die Museen Assuans

In Assuan finden sich zwei Museen. Zum einen das etwas kleinere Assuan-Museum auf der Insel Elephantine mit Exponaten, die beim Bau des Staudammes gefunden wurden, erweitert durch Funde auf der Insel Elehantine. Zum anderen das Nubische Museum mit Ausstellungsstücken und Dokumentationen über die nubische Geschichte mit 6000 Jahre alten Keramik-Schalen bis hin zur durch den Stausee notwendig gewordenen Umsiedlung nubischer Dörfer in der Gegenwart.

Die Felsengräber von Assuan

Am Westufer Assuan liegt der 130 Meter hohe Berg Qubbet el-Hawa. In ihn  wurden diverse Gräber der ägyptischen Gaufürsten überwiegend aus der Zeit der 6. bis 12. Dynastie geschlagen (2300 bis 1900 v. Chr). Die Schleifspuren der Sarkophage, die den Berg hinauf führen sind selbst von der anderen Nilseite noch gut zu sehen. Ein Besuch lohnt sich.

Das Mausoleum des Aga Khan

Drei Kilometer südlich steht das Mausoleum des Aga Khan, ein aus Assuan-Granit errichteter Bau für den 1957 verstorbenen Führer einer isamilitischen Glaubensgruppe. Das Haus seiner Witwe lässt bis heute jeden Tag eine rote Rose auf den schneeweißen Marmorsarg legen.

Das „Old Cataract Hotel“

Gegenüber der Felsengräber und der Inseln Kitchener und Elephantine – also in allerbester Lage wurde im Dezember 1899 das Luxus-Hotel Old-Cateract im viktorianischem Stil errichtet. Wie schon das Winter-Palace-Hotel in Luxor wurde auch in diesem Hotel der Roman „Tod am Nil“ verfilmt. Wir dort beherbergte auch das Old-Cateract Staatspräsidenten, Könige und Berühmtheiten. Wer bei Sonnenuntergang bei einer Tasse Tee auf den Terrassen dieses Hotel den Ausblick auf Assuan genießen durfte wird dieses Erlebnis nicht so schnell vergessen.

Der Hochdamm am Nasser-Stausee

Der neue Hochdamm am Nasser-Stausee wurde 1971 eingeweiht. Er liegt zirka 13 km südlich von Assuan, ist fast 4km lang, 111 Meter hoch und an der Krone 40 Meter breit. Der durch ihn aufgestaute 500 km lange Nasser-Stausee ist nach seinem Volumen der viertgrösste der Welt.

Der Kalabscha – Tempel

Der Kalabscha-Tempel wurde , wie die Tempel von Philae und Abu Simbel nach dem Bau des Staudammes auf die Insel Neu-Kalabscha zirka 1,5 Kilometer südlich des Hochdammes versetzt, da sein ursprünglicher Standort durch den Stausee überschwemmt wurde. Der Tempel stammt aus der 18.Dynastie (15. Jahrhundert v. Chr.) und wurde bis in die Römerzeit ausgebaut. Er hat mit 66 * 92 Metern beeindruckende Ausmaße und ist in einem guten Erhaltungszustand.

Abu Simbel

280 Kilometer südlich von Assuan und gut 500 Kilometer südlich von Luxor erreicht man Abu Simbel. Die kleine Ortschaft mit nicht einmal 3000 Einwohnern ist wegen ihrer großartigen, in den Felsen geschlagenen Tempelanlagen von Ramses II. und seiner Gemahlin Nefertari weltberühmt. Die Tempel, usprünglich als Machtdemonstration gegenüber den Völkern im Süden Ägyptens im 13. Jahrhundert v. Chr. erbaut, wurden 1979 in einer spektakulären Versetzungs – Aktion vor dem Versinken im Nasser-Stausee gerettet. Sie stehen heute auf einer Insel, die über eine befahrbare Brücke mit dem Ort Abu Simbel verbunden ist.